Skip to Content

Kuusisto Bishop’s Castle area, Kaarina

Kuusisto Bishop’s Castle area

The ruins of the medieval Bishop’s Castle, the historical Kuusisto Manor and the surrounding nature constitute a unique cultural and natural milieu. The Kuusisto culture and nature trail is equipped with information signs.

Kuusisto castle ruins

In the Middle Ages, the island of Kuusisto was selected as the site for a stronghold for the bishops of the Catholic Church in Finland.  The fortified castle served as their sanctuary until the Reformation. The castle was governed by altogether 15 Catholic bishops. Over the course of about 200 years, the castle was built in stages and used as a residence and fortress; it was a unique building in Finland. In 1528, King Gustavus Vasa of Sweden ordered that the castle be demolished. Today, all that remains is the basement and some walls.

  • The National Board of Antiquities has explored and repaired the ruins for more than one hundred years. The archaeological examinations continue.
  • The ruins of the Bishop’s Castle are an important attraction for visitors interested in archaeology and history. In summer time, it is a popular destination for outings and excursions, for example, by bike. The address is Linnanrauniontie 633.

For more information about the Bishop’s Castle ruins as a destination for an outing or excursion: nationalparks.fi 

| Back to top |